Stihl 200T rebuild needed

robpm

Local time
9:08 AM
Reaction score
I am new to this forum. I have a Stihl 200T which I bought brand new in in I think was 2004 s/n 162905336. It has been a great saw but I figured I messed up with my gas and did not mix the oil like normal. I have been running chain saws for over 40 years, I have an 044 that I purchased in 1997 and it is still running strong. So I froze the engine 200T. I am thinking that I could rebuild it. I am guessing I would need a new cylinder, piston rings, head etc. Is this worth doing? Where would I purchase the parts from, directly from Stihl or are there other avenues available? Any input would be greatly appreciated. As I said this has been a great saw for me and I am really sorry that I messed up in this way but these things do happen at times and I understand that. Thanks for your help.

Bob Hedgecutter

Staff member
Local time
1:08 AM
Reaction score
Well, it all depends on how messed up things are inside where the action happens.
You are almost certainly going to need a new piston and rings- cylinder may or may not be savable- you just wont know till you tear it all apart and inspect each part.
These are a well respected much coveted saw for the professional user. It deserves proper parts.
There are "other" options- but they are as a rule pretty crappy options.
Photos of how bad/good the damage is will help.

robpm

Local time
Reaction score
Well, it all depends on how messed up things are inside where the action happens.
You are almost certainly going to need a new piston and rings- cylinder may or may not be savable- you just wont know till you tear it all apart and inspect each part.
These are a well respected much coveted saw for the professional user. It deserves proper parts.
There are "other" options- but they are as a rule pretty crappy options.
Photos of how bad/good the damage is will help.