Stihl MS361 blown engine... what do you think of an aftermarket one?

2-StrokeDude

Local time
5:13 AM
Reaction score
Hey all I'm new to the fourm, and I just had a friend give me 2 free Stihl chainsaws he had sitting in a barn for years. One of them is an old 041 Av Electronic Quickstop and the other is a newer MS361.

I'm currently working on the 041AV since it is the only saw with a good engine that isn't seized up but the flywheel exploded on it so I'm waiting for some parts to come for that. So while I wait I'm starting work on the 361 and upon inspection the engine is totally locked up. In fact it is garbage. Had a hard seize, piston fused to the cylinder wall and the part of the piston where the wrist pin goes through snapped. Not exactly what I wanted to find out as I was hoping to just throw in a $45 cylinder and piston and hope the bottom end was good, but that's not the case.

I am considering purchasing this aftermarket Farmertec engine on Amazon for about $140:

Not exactly what I want to throw in there since it is made in china and I'd like a good solid original Stihl saw for personal use but it seems an OEM engine is not available, nor an economical choice. That being said, has anyone had good experiences with this Farmertec engine or their engines? Any bad experiences? Do you think this is a good deal on an engine like this?

Bob Hedgecutter

Staff member
Local time
9:13 PM
Reaction score
Well, I can say I have never personally had an engine seize that well- but I guess- possible.
You say the piston is basically fused to the cylinder? The wrist pin socket on the piston is broken?
So what exactly is wrong with the bottom end?

Had the bearings in the bottom end failed- entirely possible by the sounds as it has been run real lean and real hot- part of the bearing cage did a loop through the transfers and lodged between piston and cylinder- well yes that will stop and lock things pretty damn fast- with ugly results usually.