Kroil? Stihl 020 AVP Repair

Local time
1:48 AM
Reaction score
I recently scored this Stihl 020 AVP Professional for $35. Made in west Germany. Has compression but no spark. So I want to bake the ignition coil. I have to remove the recoil cover parts to access it. I only have 1 screw left to remove, but it is SO stuck. Still stuck after soaking with PBlaster for 12 hours. Should I buy a can of that Kroil stuff just for situations like these where it might actually be necessary?

Attachments

• IMG_5716.jpeg
    IMG_5716.jpeg
    702.1 KB · Views: 1

itsmeagain

Local time
3:48 AM
Reaction score
Well, the manufacturer claims that it penetrants and quickly loosens rusted stuff. Can Kroil be better than WD40?

Local time
Reaction score
Well, the manufacturer claims that it penetrants and quickly loosens rusted stuff. Can Kroil be better than WD40?
I’ve never used Kroil before. WD40 is good, but pretty basic and PBlaster works way better than it IMO. I know that Kroil is said to be the best thing ever and that it it around $22 compared to $4-9 for WD40 or PBlaster… I was looking for the opinions of Kroil users.

Bob Hedgecutter

Staff member
Local time
8:48 PM
Reaction score
I am a KROIL believer- if you ever play with old neglected firearms- this stuff is THE go to- that and the correct fit screwdriver bit.
It has many uses around the chainsaw repair bench- will even "feed" faded dry plastics better than WD40.
Will it 100% work in this situation where a steel screw has been in a magnesium thread for a good long while? Maybe- maybe not.
Do you stand a better chance with this over another product? Highly likely.
Will the addition of heat on the fixing help transmit the penetrant to where it needs to be? Certainly.
Should I apply the penetrant, go drink 3 beers and then think about trying to remove the fastener? Yes.

KROIL = Angels Piss.

Local time
Reaction score