I;m forever sharping my chain(s)

john-o

Local time
7:59 PM
Reaction score
I have a STIHL Farm boss 290. The chain that came with it is a 3639 005 0074 26RS 74
It seems that the life span of this type of chain (low kick back) requires sharpening a lot.
I'll go through three, 20ft, ok logs, then the chain is not cutting. If I do get a cut, sawdust
is the output. Is this life expectancy - usage, normal. Would a longer bar - I have 18 inches
for a bar, and/or a different model chain serve me better?
I'm not a professional. I use the chainsaw about twice a year for cutting wood for my
wood burning furnace..

Nutball

Local time
6:59 PM
Reaction score
Any Stihl brand chain stays sharp for a long time over some other brands. A razor sharp edge can wear out relatively quickly, but should still cut well enough after 3 logs. Make sure the chain isn't touching the dirt as you finish a cut. Cut part way through, then roll the log over to finish the cuts if you can, or save finishing the cuts for last if you can't roll the log. Finish them slow and gently so you tell you are through before cutting into the ground. If there is dirt on the side of the log, cut so that the dirt is on the side of the log you are standing on so the chain pulls the dirt off the log as it cuts rather than through the log.

I've had good luck with my chain staying sharp in dirty conditions lately as I am careful, but recently the second cut I made one morning just barely touched a piece of gravel on the ground under the log and completely dulled that chain.

Logs with dirt filled hollow rotten spots can dull a chain fast as well as where 2 large trunks come together can have dirt and gravel trapped in there. Some woods draw up minerals into the stump making that part of the log hard on a chain.

Make sure you file the depth gauges on the chain properly every few sharpenings, this will keep the chain performing well.

Bob Hedgecutter

Staff member
Local time
12:59 PM
Reaction score