Echo CS-590 Timber Wolf vs Husqvarna 460 Rancher

in2b8er

Local time
2:19 AM
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am new to the forum and I am not a professional arborist. I've used a Craftsman Chainsaw for the last couple of years and I am ready for an upgrade. I am trying to decide between Echo CS-590 and Husqvarna 460. Putting brand loyalty aside is one chainsaw really significantly better than the other? I just bought a small property and have to clear about a dozen 40ft trees. Once that's done, I'll probably just use the saw a few times a year to cut firewood or do storm clean up. I can get an Echo CS-590 at Home Depot for $370 and I can get a Husqvarna 460 at Lowes for $470. Is the Husqvarna really worth the extra $100?

I tried doing a search on this topic and didn't find any information.

Thank you for your advice in advance.

Fabz

Local time
Reaction score
Out of the 2 choices I’d go with the echo. A trip to eBay might be in line though. You might be able to get a serviceable 036 STIHL for around that coin. The 036pro is over 60cc and will put the hurt on either the echo or Husqvarna for around the same coin. Lighter , more powerful and if ya need more they can be made to run very strong by a knowledgeable builder.

Bob Hedgecutter

Staff member
Local time
6:19 PM
Reaction score
Of the two- it would be Echo for me as well- not a whole lot between them bar the price by the looks.
But, I wonder what around $400 might snag you in the good used Husqvarna 2 series pro saws around the 60cc range? In my opinion- a nicer platform than any 036.

Fabz

Local time
Reaction score
For $400 u could easily snag a good running 262xp so that option is viable. I would take the 036 Pro personally, stock edge goes to 262xp ... either one of them wood be superior to the rancher or timber pup

in2b8er

Local time
Reaction score